Dr. Kendall Ho is nominated and inducted into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

Dr. Kendall Ho is nominated and inducted into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

Dr. Kendall Ho is elected into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. Please join us all in congratulating Kendall as he joins this elite group of Canadian Health Science Leaders. Fellows of the Academy are elected on the basis of their demonstrated leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and commitment to advance academic health sciences. Membership is considered one […]

Drs. Adam Lund & Sheila Turris to be Visiting Scholars in Australia

Drs. Adam Lund & Sheila Turris to be Visiting Scholars in Australia

Congratulations to Drs. Adam Lund and Sheila Turris, who will be traveling as visiting scholars to Flinders University in Adelaide, South Australia in December 2013! Adam and Sheila will be working on a collaborative framework for Mass Gatherings Research, and the construction of an approach for data collection at mass gatherings internationally. This will be […]

Dr. Todd Raine recognized for his leading edge work with emergency medicine search engines

Dr. Todd Raine, an EP at St Paul’s Hospital has been recognized publicly for his ground-breaking EM search engine work in Academic Life in Emergency Medicine. ALiEM defines itself as “your digital connection to the cooperative world of EM. We strive to reshape medical education and academia in their evolution beyond the traditional classroom”. Here is […]

Fraser Health Authority celebrated two new RCPS Emergency Medicine Training Positions

Please see the very positive News Release from Fraser Health Authority celebrating the two new residency positions. The Minister of Health, the Dean of Medicine and Anne Clarke, Program Medical Director Emergency, Fraser Health all offered very positive quotes.

UBC DEM Faculty Members receive recognition from UBC CCFP-EM Residency Program class of 2012/2013

The UBC CCFP-EM Residency Program class of 2012/2013 voted for teacher of the year: Dr. Devin Harris – voted as one of St. Paul’s Emergency Department ‘teacher of the year’ Dr. Phil Miller – voted as one of the UBC ‘clinical teachers of the year’ AND UBC ‘best seminar teachers of the year’ Dr. Jon […]

Drs. Ryan, Eppler & Abu-Laban Receive the David Lloyd Jones Research Award

Congratulations to UBC Family Practice Resident Dr. Erin Ryan and her DEM co-investigators Dr. Jeff Eppler (supervisor) and Dr. Riyad Abu-Laban. Dr. Ryan presented their study titled “FEARS: The Frail Elderly Admission Rate Study” at the UBC Family Practice Resident’s Research Day and won the David Lloyd Jones Research Award. This award provided Erin $1000, plus […]

Congratulations to Drs. Andolfatto & DEM Colleagues On A #3 Annals of EM Ranking

Congratulations to DEM Faculty Member and Lion’s Gate Hospital ED Research Director Dr. Gary Andolfatto and his DEM co-author colleagues Drs. Riyad Abu-Laban, Peter Zed, and Sean Staniforth. Since April 2012, the full text of their study, “Ketamine-Propofol Combination (Ketofol) Versus Propofol Alone for Emergency Department Procedural Sedation and Analgesia: A Randomized Double-Blind Trial,” has remained among […]

Congratulations Corinne Hohl!

Corinne was awarded a prestigious grant from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research  Drug Safety & Effectiveness Network. Corinne and her team will develop and implement a new electronic ADE-reporting platform in PharmaNet, BC’s medication information system. They will enable better documentation and communication of adverse drug events between care providers and across healthcare sectors and provide high-quality data about […]

Congratulations to all CAEP 2013 contributors

CAEP 2013 (June 1-5) was a resounding success thanks to so many talented and committed people. Even the weather cooperated to show our out-of-town visitors what a beautiful part of Canada we live in. A few highlights… 864 registrants – the most ever 250 speakers 250 abstracts presented in 4 formats – standard oral, lightening […]

Retreat Photos