Dr. Jim Christenson receives CAEP 2023 Honourary Life Member Award

Congratulations to Dr. Jim Christenson for receiving the 2023 Honourary Life Member Award from the Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians (CAEP).

I am honoured and humbled to receive such a prestigious award from my national peers and colleagues. My career in emergency medicine has been delightfully rewarding personally and professionally. I hope that I have contributed a little. It has enriched my life and generated so many valued friendships.
– Dr. Jim Christenson

Dr. Christenson is a Professor and past-Head of the Department of Emergency Medicine.

He led a team to build a community of emergency physicians across the province known as the BC Emergency Medicine Network, which has recently transitioned into the newly formed Emergency Care BC where Dr. Christenson serves as the Senior Medical Advisor, Knowledge Translation.

Dr. Christenson’s wide range of experience in emergency care clinical research primarily focuses on resuscitation science, prehospital acute care and safe ED discharge decisions for opioid overdose and potential Acute Coronary Syndromes.

Dr. Christenson is currently a Co-Lead for the Canadian Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium and Chair of the Heart and Stroke Resuscitation Advisory Committee, both of which aim to improve outcomes from unexpected sudden cardiac arrest across Canada. He is Co-Director of the BC Resuscitation Research Collaborative (BC RESURECT) and provides leadership to Canadians Saving Arrest Victims Everywhere (CanSAVE). He is the Principal Investigator of a neuroprotective intervention given by paramedics to patients with severe stroke (The FRONTIER Trial) and nominated PI for the Kwiis Hen Niip study to improve emergency care in remote Nuu-chah-nulth communities.

CAEP’s annual awards recognize excellence within emergency medicine, including advocacy, education, research and professional practice. Award recipients are nominated by their peers.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Christenson for his exemplary contributions to emergency medicine.